The men’s national team can win the Jerring prize – The national handball team

The men’s national team can win the Jerring prize – The national handball team
The men’s national team can win the Jerring prize – The national handball team

Ten days ago it was clear that the men’s national handball team can be awarded as the team of the year at the Sports Gala in January – today the European champions have also been nominated for Radiosport’s Jerring Award, which is awarded on the same day.

– There are many big names and teams that have received the award in the past and the competition after a fantastic Swedish sports year in 2022 is great, so it is very honorable that we are nominated, says confederation captain Glenn Solberg.

On January 16, the Swedish men have the chance to win at the same time in two of the country’s largest arenas and in our two largest cities. Partly on the handball floor in Scandinavium, where Uruguay is the opposition in the final group stage match in the WC, and partly on the gala floor in Avicii Arena in Stockholm.

In the capital, the Sports Gala is arranged where Sweden’s top athletes are to be celebrated and praised. After the EC gold in Budapest in January – Sweden’s first in 20 years – has Andreas Palicka, Jim Gottfridsson, Max Darj & Co the chance to take home double prizes.

After first being nominated as one of four candidates for this year’s team, it became official today that the national team is also nominated for the prestigious Jerring Prize, where the Swedish people vote for the year’s best Swedish sporting performance.

Radiosport’s Jerring Prize was established in 1979, the same year as the legendary radioman Sven Jerring passed away, and Ingemar Stenmark became the first, historic recipient of the award. In 1990, the prize went to the men’s national team in handball after the WC gold in Prague. Apart from 1990, it has only happened on three other occasions that a team has received the award: in 1982 when IFK Göteborg was awarded after the Uefa Cup title, in 1994 when the men’s national football team won the WC bronze and last year when the equestrian show jumping team took it home after the Olympic gold in Tokyo.

Among the individual winners, apart from Stenmark, there are names such as Mats Wilander, Gunde Swan, Pernilla Wiberg, Annika Sorenstam, Magdalena Forsberg, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Charlotte Kalla, Sarah Sjostrom and Armand Duplantis.

– There are fantastic names that are among the previous award winners and it is extremely great that we are among those who can win it for 2022. In the same way that the Bengan Boys generation inspired me and everyone else in today’s national team, I hope that we can be role models for today’s young people who play handball, says Jim Gottfridsson, who was named the tournament’s most valuable player in connection with the EC gold.


A modern classic. After 20 years of waiting, Sweden once again became the European champion in handball. Team captain Jim Gottfridsson’s instructions in Sweden’s closing time-out in the final against Spain have become winged. The EC in handball is, in terms of competition, at least as tough as the WC or the Olympics.


1) Via the web
2) Via SVT’s app Duo
3) By calling 099–321 06*
* = The call costs SEK 9.90 (plus any traffic charges). SEK 9.03 goes to the Sports Gala and Radiohjälpen’s collection “Sports is more than just sports” to combat mental illness.


Women’s relay team, biathlon
Armand Duplantis, athletics
Team Niklas Edin, curling
Marcus Ericsson, racing
Mattias Falck/Kristian Karlsson, table tennis
Sara Hector, alpine
Sandra Näslund, ski cross
Sarah Sjöström, swimming
Jonna Sundling, cross-country skiing
Nils van der Poel, skating
Henrik von Eckermann, equestrian sport
Walter Wallberg, hump course
Ebba Årsjö, alpine

Text: Daniel Vandor
Photo: Bildbyrån

The article is in Swedish

Tags: mens national team win Jerring prize national handball team

PREV Finnish Swedes are expected to live longer than Finnish speakers
NEXT This is how long you are protected if you have had corona and received two vaccine doses